Rulings on Combat

Adrenal Defense

  • You must be aware of the specifics of the attack to use AD, not just that you are probably going to be attacked. [2/14/00]
  • Alertness and Sense Ambush will not help you use AD against a rear attack in melee, although Blind Fighting will. [2/14/00]
  • You may use a weapon while using AD, as long as the weapon is not a large object (must be smaller than a shield at least). [4/27/00]

Adrenal Speed / Haste

  • If you make two attacks with 200% activity, you do not have to make the same OB/DB split for them. [3/24/00]
  • If you only make one attack with 200% activity, the parry for that attack can apply to any phase of that round. [3/24/00]
  • A hasted combatant with Two Weapon Combat does not have to make the same OB/DB split for all four attacks. [3/26/00]
  • A hasted character does not get two rounds of action each round, they get 200% activity each round. That means they still only get one action per phase. [3/26/00]
  • Double speed characters bleed twice as fast, expend exhaustion points twice as fast, and recover from stun twice as fast . [3/28/00]

Adrenal Strength

  • Adrenal Strength doubles hits done by resulting criticals. [2/18/00]


  • If you Ambush and fail during combat, you may not ambush that character again during the combat. [2/15/00]


  • Armor types do not include helms. [1/6/00]
  • Which armor types have arm and leg greaves is specified in the armor type description. [1/6/00]
  • NEW Armor quickness penalties may not be reduced by high St. [5/15/00]


  • A martial artist may only make two attacks in one phase if they are using a style that specifies that ability. [11/9/99]
  • Having a high number of ranks in your weapon skill does not give you multiple attacks each turn. [11/9/99]
  • Shooting past someone and firing into melee should be handled using the partial cover modifications. [2/1/00]
  • Option: If you shoot past someone and miss, determine if the partial cover mod made the difference between a hit and a miss. If it did, reroll the attack on the target shot past, with a max result of 50 plus the partial cover mod expressed as a positive number. This ruling is only for those who wish to simulate such things. [2/1/00]
  • There is no set maximum multiplier on hits dealt. However, add together multipliers, don't multiply them (that is, x2 and x2 is x3, not x4). [2/18/00]
  • If one character is trying to defend against a creature while another attacks, the attacker should take a flank position. If the creature tries to turn and attack the flanker, both characters will have to make MMs to maintain their positions. [3/6/00]

Defensive Bonus

  • You can have a negative DB, even though your Qu bonus cannot be brought below 0 by armor penalties. [11/8/99]
  • A shield applies to only one opponent per round. [R, 1/11/00]
  • Someone attacked from behind, totally unawares, they only get the DB from special items and cover. If he is aware there might be an attack coming, he also gets his Qu bonus. [R, 2/15/00]
  • Against Directed Spells creatures get their full DB, while characters get everything except they only get half Adrenal Defense, and not all shields count for their full value. [R, 2/15/00]
  • Against Ball spells, characters get full Qu, cover, and special item DB, no Adrenal Defense, and half armor quality (see T-3.6 for more details). [R, 2/15/00]
  • Simple ruling: Creatures get their full DB against all attacks. Realistic ruling: A GM may reduce a creature's DB against ball spells by up to half if he feels that some or all of the DB is due to quickness rather than tough hide.


  • The initiative roll only gets the Qu bonus, not tripple the Qu bonus. [R, 10/6/99]
  • Rolling 2d10 + SD for mental initiative is an optional rule. [R, 11/16/99]
  • If you are using the optional rule for mental initiative, and want to perform both mental and physical actions in the same turn, make one die roll and add the different stats to determine the different initiatives. [11/17/99]

Large and Super Large Criticals

  • The Mithril collumn represents weapons with a sharper edge, and is used even against large and super-large creatures with no special weakness to Mithril. [2/4/00]
  • These tables are open-ended. [R, 2/4/00]

Magic Criticals

  • A magic bow is not sufficient to cause a magic critical, a magic arrow is required. [10/18/99]

Martial Arts

  • You may parry using Martial Arts when you do not have a weapon, shield, or suitable terrain. [3/26/00]

Mounted Combat

  • To attack mounted, you must first make a 10-100% riding maneuver. Note that there are special riding maneuver percentage activity rules, refer to the skill description. If that maneuver is successful, you may attack with the appropriate weapon skill. However, if the modified weapon skill is greater than your mounted combat skill, use the mounted combat skill instead (do not reapply the modifiers). [R, 1/28/00]

Moving Strike

  • NEW The attack is part of the movement action, but still requires 100% activity or there will be penalties. [5/31/00]

Offensive Bonus

  • The bonuses for bows and arrows are averaged for determining offensive bonus. [R, X, 10/20/99]
  • Magical bonuses are not cumulative with non-magical bonuses. [10/22/99] The Armsmaster personal weapon is an explicity exception to this ruling [R, 10/24/99]

Only Affected by Magic

  • A martial artist cannot use his bare hands to hurt a creature only affected by magic. [2/4/00]


  • If you make multiple attacks in a turn, with different ammounts of parry, the parry you have declared for a particular phase applies to any incoming attacks during that phase. [3, 10/29/99]
  • Modifications to attacks are applied to the OB, and thus affect how much you can parry. [R, 11/2/99]
  • A character with a 0 or negative OB may not parry. [11/2/99]
  • When making a subdual or similar attack, your OB is limited to the subdual skill (or whichever skill is appropriate to the attack). You may not use the rest of your normal weapon OB to parry with. [11/12/99]
  • You may only parry one attack per attack you make. [3/20/00]
  • Martial arts is considered a one-handed weapon for determining how much combatants may put into DB by parrying. [3/22/00]
  • Parry can apply in any phase, unless two attacks are made (see above). [3/24/00]
  • A character may not apply parries from two attacks against one attack. [3/24/00]
  • Animals may parry. [X, 4/28/00]
  • NEW You may not parry directed spell attacks without the aid of specific spells. [R, 6/7/00]

Percentage Activity

  • You may not attack with less than the minimum activity percentage listed on T-3.2 [R, 10/12/99]
  • Percentage activity not used for the allowed three actions may only be used for movement at the end of the deliberate action phase. It may not be used to attack or parry. [R, 10/29/99]


  • The GM can change the rules. [R, 12/8/99]

Slaying Criticals

  • Bows of slaying impart their effect on the arrows they shoot, as an exception to the ruling on magical criticals from bows. [2, 10/20/99]
  • Slaying attacks against small and medium creatures have the roll for the normal crit also applied to the Large Creature Critical Table, Slaying collumn. This does not apply to the Magic and Mithril collumns. [R, 2/4/00]
  • If you get a slaying crit against a small or medium creature, and are applying the roll for the normal crit to the Slaying collumn, you may roll open-ended if the first roll was high enough. [2/4/00]


  • NEW Shields do give a bonus agaist directed spell attacks, as indicated on T-3.6. [R, 6/7/00]


  • Simple: a round of stun means you are stunned until the end of the current round. Realistic: you are stunned for three action phases, counting only phases in which you have not acted. [10/29/99]
  • If you are stunned before making an attack, that attack is foiled. You may cancel it and try another action. [10/29/99]

Two Weapon Combat

  • Two Weapon Combat must be developed for each combination, including (unless you are ambidextrous) the same two weapons in different hands. [R, 3/29/00]
  • Your OB for both attacks is your Two Weapon Combat skill bonus [R, 3/29/00]

Weapon Breakage

  • Achieving a critical does not allow you to ignore a weapon breakage roll. [12/8/99]
  • Rolls on the critical tables will not cause weapon breakage, only rolls on the attack tables. [12/8/99]
  • If a critical says "your weapon breaks," you can't make a weapon breakage roll to try and avoid it. The weapon just breaks. [12/9/99]
 Last Updated 6/10/00
[ Top ] Created 1/30/00 [ Home ]